News & Events
Death of Very Rev Patrick Prendergast, PP, Glenties

fr patrick prendergast resize


The death has taken place on Monday, 6th March 2017 at St Vincent’s Hospital, Dublin, of Father Patrick Prendergast, aged 64. He was Parish Priest of Glenties (Iniskeel).

Born: 24th March 1952

Ordained: 26th June 1977 in St Eunan’s Cathedral, Letterkenny, Co Donegal by Bishop Anthony MacFeely.

Fr Prendergast received his primary education inLetterkennyand his Secondary Education in St Eunan’s College, Letterkenny and Holy Cross College, Falcarragh. He began his training for the Priesthood at St Patrick’s College, Maynooth (1970 – 1973) before going to Rome (1973 – 1977) from where he was ordained to the Priesthood.



            PLACE                                                                        DATES


Staff Holy Cross College, Falcarragh                                   1977 – 1978

CC, Tory Island                                                                       1978 – 1979

Staff Community School, Falcarragh                                 1979 – 1985

CC Milford                                                                              1985 – 1989

CC, Ballyshannon                                                                   1989 - 1994

CC Fintown & Chaplain to Balliamore VEC School          1994 – 1999

PP, Glenties                                                                           1999 – to present.

Fr Prendergast’s remains will repose from 10pm tonight Tuesday 7th March at his sister-in-law Mary Prendergast’s residence at Carolina House, Loughnagin, Letterkenny.

Removal from there at 4.45pm on Wednesday 8th March to arrive at St Connell’s Church, Glenties for 6pm to repose over night.

Requiem Mass on Thursday 9th March at 2pm in St Connell’s Church, Glenties with burial afterwards in Glenties Cemetery.

May his soul rest in the peace of Christ.

World Meeting of Families Website

wmof logo 2018 resized


To find out more about this event vist the website here

Diocesan Pilgrimage to Lourdes



The Raphoe Diocesan Pilgrimage to Lourdes takes place between 22nd - 27th May 2017.

For full information and booking forms contact Brenda as the Lourdes Pilgrimage Office on 074 9125090

Cost per person €699 plus bus to Belfast airport.

Diocesan Pilgrimage to Fatima


The Annual Diocesan Pilgrimage to Fatima wil take place from 10th July 2017

The Pilgriamge willbe led by Bishop Philip Boyce, OCD, Bishop of Raphoe

Spiritual Director: Fr James Sweeney,


cost per person from Dublin is €764

For booking and further information contact 074 9737015

or to download the poster click here

Ordination of Fr Damien Nejad

ord dec 2016 nejad

Joyous celebrations in St. Eunan’s Cathedral, Letterkenny, as the Rev Damien Nejad is Ordained to the Priesthood  for the Diocese of Raphoe. Sunday 11th December 2016.


Most Rev Philip Boyce, O.C.D., Bishop of Raphoe ordained to the Priesthood Fr Damien Nejad, a native of Glasgow whose mother comes from Annagry.

The Cathedral of Sts Eunan and Columba was filled with family and friends of the new priest for the nearly two hour ceremony. Also in attendance were over 50 priests from the diocese and further afield who concelebrated the Mass.

Bishop Boyce in his sermon said: “in our Eucharistic celebration here today at St. Eunan’s Cathedral, we have an added reason for joyful hope and expectancy. A young man, Damien Nejad, approaches the steps of the altar and presents himself for Ordination to the Priesthood in the Diocese of Raphoe. He is following Christ’s call to be with the Master for the rest of his life and to serve the people entrusted to his care. Ordination day is always a day of joy and gratitude: joy at the precious gift received, gratitude to the Lord for calling a young man to his exclusive service in the ordained ministry”.

The Bishop spoke about the joy of the Gospel in the life of a Priest: “In your daily ministry, then, let people experience the joy of Christ in your work, and not simply the burdens of your duties. Pope Francis has spoken many times about the joy of the Gospel and the joy of Evangelisation, notably in his Apostolic Exhortation Evangelii Gaudium on the Proclamation of the Gospel in Today’s World. This is to be your life in the years that lie ahead. You are to live and work with Christ, “the very first and the greatest evangeliser.” Pope Francis reminds you that “life grows by being given away, and it weakens in isolation and comfort…it matures in the measure that it is offered up in order to give life to others.” And he quotes Pope Paul VI who back in 1975 wrote that we should recover and deepen our enthusiasm, that “delightful and comforting joy of evangelising, even when it is in tears that we must sow… And may the world of our time, which is searching, sometimes with anguish, sometimes with hope, be enabled to receive the Good News not from evangelisers who are dejected, discouraged, impatient or anxious, but from ministers of the Gospel whose lives glow with fervour, who have first received the joy of Christ”. (Evangelii Gaudium10,Evangelii Nuntiandi, 80)”.

On Monday, 12th December, the newly-ordained Priest will celebrate his First Holy Mass in the parish of Annagry in the Church of St Mary Star of the Sea, at 7pm and afterwards give his first blessing to all present.


ord dec2016 1

ord dec2016 3

ord dec2016 4

raphoe ordination 11 dec 2016


<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next > End >>

Page 1 of 6